TL;DR
Get backup power and energy gear delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
Ford says its new Fathom electric pickup will use an onboard inverter to send power from its battery to a home, avoiding the need for a costly bidirectional charger. The compatible equipment is expected to cost substantially less than Ford’s current F-150 Lightning home-backup setup, but Ford has not announced an exact price or installation costs.
Ford says its upcoming Fathom electric pickup, which starts at under $30,000, will be able to send power from its battery to a home without requiring the costly bidirectional charger used by many current vehicle-to-home systems. The company says compatible home-power equipment will cost substantially less than its existing setup, though it has not released a final price.
The Fathom’s system uses an onboard inverter to convert the truck’s battery power from direct current (DC) into alternating current (AC) that a home can use. Ford says this design can reduce the need for a separate, expensive DC-to-AC conversion device at the house. Most electric vehicles sold in the United States do not currently offer this type of AC bidirectional charging.
Ford said the new AC-capable charging equipment compatible with the Fathom will cost roughly half the $1,300 price of its Charge Station Pro, developed for the F-150 Lightning. For outage backup, owners will also need a home backup power panel. Ford says the combined equipment will cost 60% less than the $5,200 Charge Station Pro and home integration system combination. Those figures exclude installation, and the company has not finalized the Fathom system’s exact price.
The pickup and its equipment are intended to support both home power management when the grid is operating and backup power during outages. Ford says other vehicles built on its Universal EV Platform will also have AC bidirectional charging. That platform is linked to the company’s retooled Louisville, Kentucky, factory. Ford developed the inverter technology with engineers at Auto Motive Power, a startup it acquired in 2023.
Lower Costs Could Broaden Home Backup
The main consumer implication is a lower equipment price for using an electric vehicle as a household power source. Existing bidirectional systems can add thousands of dollars before installation, making vehicle-to-home backup a substantial extra purchase even for people who already own a compatible EV. Ford’s proposed price reduction could make the option more accessible, although the actual cost to a customer will depend on final equipment pricing and installation.
For outage protection, the truck is not a stand-alone replacement for a home backup system: owners will need the compatible charging equipment and a home backup power panel. The vehicle’s battery capacity, how much power a household uses, and the length of an outage will also affect how useful the setup is. Ford’s announcement addresses the price of the equipment bundle, not how long a Fathom could power a particular home.
The announcement may also put pressure on other automakers to consider AC-based vehicle-to-home capability. Ford executive Dave McCreadie told Canary Media that reducing costs for both vehicles and charging and discharging equipment is central to increasing adoption. Whether lower hardware costs translate into broad use will depend in part on utility approval and local interconnection requirements.
Products Worth Considering

Bose S1 Pro+ Portable PA Speaker

Dreame H15 Pro Wet-Dry Vacuum and Mop

Blueair Blue Pure 511i Max Air Purifier for Home and Bedroom
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Why AC Bidirectional Charging Differs
Many current vehicle-to-home systems rely on equipment outside the vehicle to convert the battery’s DC power into household AC power. Canary Media reported that such equipment can cost from just under $7,000 to more than $10,000; the report did not specify installation in that range. Ford’s approach moves the conversion capability into the vehicle, with the company saying this allows a less expensive home setup.
Ford’s F-150 Lightning system provides a price comparison: Ford lists its Charge Station Pro at $1,300, while the Charge Station Pro and home integration system together cost $5,200, excluding installation. The report also cites a General Motors DC vehicle-to-home bundle sale price of $6,748. These are different systems and bundles, so the figures do not by themselves establish a like-for-like comparison of total installed costs.
Ford says the Fathom system uses communications technology tied to SAE J3068, a standard certified by SAE International, to help the vehicle and home equipment coordinate safe power delivery. Ford’s announcement comes alongside work with utilities and regulators on how such systems should connect to the grid. The underlying equipment design and the rules governing its use are separate parts of making home backup available to customers.
““We want to make sure that our customers interested in deploying this technology in their homes can get their system interconnected in the lowest-hassle way.””
— Dave McCreadie, Ford’s director of grid and energy services
Prices and Utility Rules Remain Open
Ford has not announced the final price of the Fathom-compatible equipment or said when it will be available to buy. Its stated comparisons exclude installation costs, which can vary by home and location. The announcement also does not provide a confirmed full installed price for a Fathom home-backup setup.
Utility rules are another unresolved issue. McCreadie told Canary Media that only California and Maryland had established utility regulations for AC bidirectional charging outside pilot projects, while rules and procedures vary across the country. Ford said it has been engaging with utilities and regulators, but it has not provided a nationwide timetable for streamlined approvals.
The company has not detailed how much power the Fathom can deliver to a home, how long it could provide backup under different usage conditions, or which Fathom trims and configurations will support the feature. Those details matter to customers comparing the system with other home backup options and remain unconfirmed in the material available.
Ford and Utilities Set Connection Rules
Ford said it has been working since July with American Electric Power, BC Hydro, Consumers Energy, Exelon and Pacific Gas & Electric on common standards for connecting its AC vehicle-to-home system under utility interconnection rules. The effort is intended to reduce complications for customers seeking approval to install the equipment; no final nationwide standard or completion date was announced.
Customers will need further details from Ford on equipment pricing, launch timing, installation requirements and vehicle compatibility. The company’s utility discussions and the eventual local approval process will help determine where owners can use the system and how easily they can connect it. Ford has said the technology will extend to other Universal EV Platform vehicles, but has not named additional models or their release dates.
Key Questions
How will the Ford Fathom power a home?
Ford says the Fathom will have an onboard inverter that converts battery power from DC to AC for home use. Owners will need compatible home equipment, including a backup power panel for outage protection.
How much will the Fathom home-backup equipment cost?
Ford has not announced a final price. It says the compatible AC charging equipment will cost roughly half of its $1,300 Charge Station Pro, and that the equipment combination for backup will cost 60% less than its $5,200 Lightning system combination. These comparisons exclude installation.
Can the Fathom power a home during an outage?
Ford says the system is intended to provide home backup during grid outages, but owners will also need a home backup power panel and compatible charging equipment. Ford has not specified how long the truck could power a home or how performance would vary with household usage.
Will other Ford EVs get this feature?
Ford executive Dave McCreadie said other vehicles based on the company’s Universal EV Platform will also have AC bidirectional charging. Ford has not named those vehicles or given their release dates.
Will the system work everywhere in the United States?
That is not yet clear. Utility interconnection rules vary, and Ford says it is working with utilities and regulators on common standards. Local requirements may affect whether and how customers can connect a system.
Source: canarymedia.com
