TL;DR
Get backup power and energy gear delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
Shelly has announced the Presence Gen4, an $84.99 mmWave radar sensor that can detect up to 10 people without a camera. It is available through Shelly’s online store and supports multiple smart-home platforms, though details such as battery operation and independent detection accuracy are not provided in the report.
Shelly has announced the Presence Gen4, a smart-home sensor that uses mmWave radar instead of a camera to detect people, pets, movement and activity, including as many as 10 people at once. The device is listed at $84.99 through Shelly’s online store and is designed to trigger automations without recording video.
The sensor can sit on a shelf or table using its built-in stand, or be mounted on a wall. Shelly says its 140-degree horizontal field of view can cover spaces of up to 650 square feet. The Presence Gen4 needs a nearby power source for its USB-C cable, according to the report.
Shelly says the device works with Google Home, Apple Home, Amazon Alexa, Samsung SmartThings and Home Assistant. Its listed connectivity options include Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, Zigbee and Matter. The report says the sensor is available from Shelly and expected to reach retailers including Amazon and Best Buy, but does not give dates for those listings.
Users can configure up to 10 detection zones, each customizable for different automations. For example, a light could turn on when someone is detected at a desk, or a home theater could activate when someone sits on a sofa. Shelly also says users can include pets in detection or adjust sensitivity to reduce triggers from low objects such as a robot vacuum.
Radar Detection for Room-Based Automations
The Presence Gen4 offers an alternative to camera-based monitoring for people who want occupancy-triggered smart-home functions without video capture. Its multi-person detection and adjustable zones could make automations more targeted than a simple room-level motion trigger: systems can be set to respond to activity in a particular part of a room, according to Shelly’s product description.
That could affect everyday uses such as lighting, heating, cooling and music. A system might activate only when someone enters a chosen area and switch off after the space is empty, potentially reducing unnecessary operation. The stated 650-square-foot coverage may also suit larger rooms or open spaces, though actual performance will depend on installation and the environment.
Camera-free does not mean the device detects nothing about occupants: Shelly describes presence, motion and activity detection. The practical appeal is that these functions rely on radar rather than recorded images. The supplied report does not provide independent testing, so it does not establish how reliably the sensor distinguishes people, pets and other movement in real homes.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Shelly’s Expanding Smart-Home Line
The Presence Gen4 follows Shelly’s launch of a $50 subscription-free security camera the previous month, according to The Verge report. The two products take different approaches: the camera is a video device, while the Presence Gen4 is presented as a radar-based sensor for occupancy detection and automation.
Presence sensors can help smart-home systems respond to whether people are in a space, rather than relying only on a timed schedule or a basic motion trigger. Shelly’s model adds configurable zones and advertised support for several major platforms. Its reported $84.99 price and USB-C power requirement are confirmed product details in the source; broader comparisons with competing sensors are not included.
““The Shelly Presence Gen4 sensor uses mmWave radar technology instead of a camera to detect the presence, motions, and activities of people and pets.””
— The Verge report on Shelly’s product announcement
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Performance and Retail Timing Remain Unclear
The supplied report does not specify the exact publication date, so “starting today” cannot be tied here to a calendar date. It says the sensor is expected at Amazon and Best Buy, but gives no expected arrival dates or confirmation that those listings are live.
Other product details are also not covered, including whether the Presence Gen4 can operate on battery power, how it handles multiple people moving close together, and how consistently it distinguishes people from pets or low objects. The report provides Shelly’s stated coverage and capabilities, not independent test results. It also does not explain what activity information the device stores or how long any data is retained.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Retail Rollout and Real-World Testing
The next reported step is the expected arrival of the Presence Gen4 at retailers such as Amazon and Best Buy; no schedule is given. Buyers can currently check Shelly’s online store for availability at the stated $84.99 price.
Further product information or independent testing would help clarify how the sensor performs across different room layouts and how its multi-person and pet detection work in practice. Until those details are available, the published coverage area and detection capabilities should be treated as Shelly’s stated specifications rather than independently verified results.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Key Questions
What is the Shelly Presence Gen4?
It is a smart-home presence sensor that uses mmWave radar to detect people, movement and activity without using a camera, according to Shelly’s product description.
How many people can it detect at once?
The product announcement says it can detect up to 10 people simultaneously. The supplied report does not include independent testing of that claim.
How much does the Presence Gen4 cost, and where is it sold?
The reported price is $84.99 through Shelly’s online store. The report says Amazon and Best Buy are expected to carry it, but does not state when.
Which smart-home platforms does it support?
The report lists Google Home, Apple Home, Amazon Alexa, Samsung SmartThings and Home Assistant, along with Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, Zigbee and Matter connectivity.
Does the sensor need to be plugged in?
The report says installation requires access to power for the sensor’s USB-C cable. It does not mention battery operation.
Source: rss
Halloween Picks
halloween
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
